On Saturday, Respect politician and anti-war maverick George Galloway (to whom, as far as I know, I am not related) made broadcasting history by hosting a radio phone-in show from the ruins of southern Beirut.

Speaking about the ‘mother of all talk shows’ coming live from Beirut, Galloway said prior to the broadcast:

“I’m the first British political figure to visit the wreckage of Beirut and the south of Lebanon, seeing for myself the enormous toll taken by 33 days of aerial bombardment.

“I’ll be reporting to talkSPORT listeners on just what I’ve found here and inviting guests from across the spectrum in Lebanon who know what they’re talking about.

“I’ll be taking calls from the listeners across the UK as normal during this two day special on the conflict in the Middle East, its fundamental causes and, a way forward for peace.”

Click here to listen

