23/06/06 

There is a sector of society (let's, for the sake of argument, call it the British w**king class), which holds that the American sense of humour is bereft of irony.

I believe the following comment, written in response to one of my posts by my buddy Mike E, whose excellent blog, The Open Container Speedway, I heartily recommend, dispels that myth:

Just watched the France/Korea match, and I actually was kind of wondering – do all these people all of a sudden love the crap out of their countries, or are they always like that? Couldn't figure it out…

My mom was rooting for France, for no particular reason, which I thought was unconsciously racist (France=white, Korea=brown), but kept that opinion to myself and settled in to watch the game.

I rooted for Korea because I think French people are stupid.

Down on it.

